Unitwin Network

What is the UNITWIN Network on Interreligious Dialogue for Intercultural Understanding?

UNITWIN is the abbreviation for UNESCO’s university twinning and networking system.




The UNITWIN/UNESCO Chairs Program was conceived as a way to advance research, training and program development in higher education by building university networks and encouraging inter-university cooperation through transfer of knowledge across borders.

Since it was founded in 1992, the program has sparked great interest among member states. Today, 712 UNESCO Chairs and 45 UNITWIN Networks are established within the program, involving over 700 institutions in 116 countries.

University of Oregon Professor, Steven Shankman is a Chair of UNESCO’s Network of Interreligious Dialogue for Cultural Understanding. There are currently only twenty-seven Chairs worldwide in UNESCO’s Network on Interreligious Dialogue for Intercultural Understanding. This site provides detailed information on each Chair, including recent publications and events hosted by UNESCO Chairs around the world.

For information about other UNESCO Chairs or UNITWIN Networks, please click here to visit the UNESCO/UNITWIN website.